Take the most beautiful photo for the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image 2017

Miraubaud Yacht Racing Image 2013 © Ricardo Pinto

The 8th edition of the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image 2017 photo competition was officially launched in early May. It is aimed at professional sea photographers and will gather the best pictures of regatta photographers from all over the world.

This contest, launched in 2010, is the first worldwide competition dedicated to sailing sports, and which offers professional photographers the opportunity to share their passion for sailing with a wide community.

"The America's Cup, the Volvo Ocean Race, the arrival of the Vendée Globe, the Mini Class, the Figaro, classic yacht races and much more should give rise to an extraordinary selection of images that will illustrate the diversity of sailing" said Nicolas Mirabaud, member of Mirabaud's Executive Committee.

In 2016, 149 professional photographers from 25 countries presented an image for the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image Award 2016, producing superb photos. 34,680 people voted for their favourite photo on the internet while 1.8 million pages were viewed on the event website. In 2016, it was a Frenchman, the famous Jean-Marie Liot, who had won the award, with a iMOCA Safran shot by Morgan Lagravière covered in water during the Vendée Globe.

Morgan Lagravière's IMOCA Safran for the MYRI 2016 © Jean-Marie Liot

The first 80 photos submitted before 12 October 2017 at midnight will be pre-selected by a jury of three renowned international sea photographers and published on the event website. Photographers may submit only one photo, taken between November 1, 2016 and October 12, 2017. The first 20 photos selected by the jury will be displayed at the Yacht Racing Forum on 27 and 28 November in Aarhus, Denmark, in front of important sailing personalities.

The photographer who wins the competition will receive the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image prize, while a minimum of ?2,000 will be distributed to the winners. Two secondary prizes will also be awarded during the Yacht Racing Forum: The Yacht Racing Forum Award (selected by the delegates present at the Yacht Racing Forum) and the Public Award (selected by the public votes on Facebook.)